You are here

Dumb

Less than a year since they signed to Mint Records for 2018’s Seeing Green, Dumb is already back with a new full-length, Club Nites -- this time with even more neuroticism and indignation. Club Nites is a collection of narratives drawn from the nightlife ecosystem.

The LP has the dry, in-your-face energy of a root canal: with crisp production that leaves every squeal of feedback and hollered refrain exposed. Dumb wrote and self-produced the LP in their studio over the course of a few months in early 2019, with mastering from Mikey Young (Eddy Current Suppression Ring, Total Control). Packing 14 tracks into a little more than half an hour, Dumb are unfailingly economical, with no-nonsense song structures that last just long enough to get stuck in your head.
The band makes no effort to compromise their pop sensibilities, disguise their guitar feedback (PC Worship, Pardoner), or hold back on austere rock riffs (Uranium Club). The product is a whirlwind of seemingly insoluble influences battling one another into existence. The inconsistency of vocal stylings range from spoken-word rambling, to Fugazi-esque chants, to what it might sound like if Mark E Smith had fronted The Zombies. The words are at times petty, concerning small-world matters in an attempt to break from overarching and more 'meaningful' concepts often displayed by tele-prompters. From being unable to meet the lofty expectations of your peers (Beef Hits) to showing disregard towards your closest friends (My Condolences), the album portrays a bleak social setting sensationalized by Hollywood and romance.

In typically tireless fashion, the band will immediately hit the road in North America upon the new album’s release. You will likely find the band engaging in meaningful interactions with their community and beyond, as they are doing their best to negate the spectacle by being approachable. If you’ve ever felt alienated by club nights, Club Nites is the antidote.

“Vancouver’s Dumb make loud, snotty, smartass indie rock with wirey guitars and buckets of attitude. It’s like a whole band made of Jimbos from The Simpsons and Eddie Haskels from Leave it to Beaver by way of Los Angeles 1980 new wave punk. (Except Canadian.) Their shouty, catchy songs rarely go past two minutes, but pack in maximum hooks and choruses.” - Brooklyn Vegan

 

 

Dumb is Franco Rossino (guitar, vocals), Shelby Vredik (bass), Nick Short (guitar) and Pipé Morelli (drums).

Upcoming Shows

Thursday August 1, 2019
Fortune Sound Club - Vancouver, BC, Canada
Details
Friday October 4, 2019
Swamp - Freiburg, Germany
Details
Saturday October 5, 2019
Rothaus - Zurich, Switzerland
Details
Sunday October 6, 2019
Deep Inside - Dijon, France
Details
Tuesday October 8, 2019
Lune Froide - Nantes, France
Details
Wednesday October 9, 2019
Bistrot de la Cité - Rennes, France
Details
Thursday October 10, 2019
La Boule Noir - Paris, France
Details
Friday October 11, 2019
Hy Brasil - Bristol, UK
Details
Saturday October 12, 2019
Shacklewell Arms - London, UK
Details
Sunday October 13, 2019
The Eagle Inn - Manchester, UK
Details
Monday October 14, 2019
Broadcast - Glasgow, UK
Details
Tuesday October 15, 2019
Wheatsheaf - Oxford, UK
Details
Wednesday October 16, 2019
The Hope & Ruin - Brighton, UK
Details
Thursday October 17, 2019
Charlatan - Ghent, Belgium
Details
Friday October 18, 2019
Rotown - Rotterdam, Netherlands
Details
Saturday October 19, 2019
Molotow - Hamburg, Germany
Details
Monday October 21, 2019
Tape - Aarhus, Denmark
Details
Wednesday October 23, 2019
Schokoladen - Berlin, Germany
Details
Thursday October 24, 2019
Bumann & Sohn - Cologne, Germany
Details