You are here

Mass Romantic


This is the debut album by Vancouver's legendary übergroup, The New Pornographers. Blaine Thurier ("Low Self-Esteem Girl"), Carl Newman (Zumpano, Superconductor), Dan Bejar (Destroyer), John Collins (The Evaporators, Thee Goblins), and Kurt Dahle (Limblifter) - along with Neko Case on selected lead and accompaniment - present this: an epic, baroque masterpiece of such hyperbolic grandeur that if it were a painting, one would not be able to stop studying it lest a vital detail be overlooked.... Okay, not quite... but close! From September 2000 to now, the band and album have had a whirlwind crazy rollercoaster ride of critical and public success.




Just about every last three-minute thrill-pop epic on the fantastic Mass Romantic album sounds like money in the bank. They've managed to bring together the most commercial elements of early-'80s new wave with an avant-glam blast of vintage Roxy Music and T-Rex boogie for a shout-along sound that has eluded both Weezer and Guided by Voices. - NOW

Track List: 
Mass Romantic
The Fake Headlines
The Slow Descent Into Alcoholism
Mystery Hours
Letter From an Occupant
To Wild Homes
The Body Says No
Execution Day
Centre for Holy Wars
The mary Martin Show
Breakin' the Law